Awards & Winners

David Storey

Date of Birth 13-July-1933
Place of Birth Wakefield
(West Yorkshire, United Kingdom)
Nationality United Kingdom
Also know as David Rhames Storey
Profession Novelist, Screenwriter, Playwright
David Rhames Storey is an English playwright, screenwriter, award-winning novelist and a former professional rugby league player. Educated at QEGS Wakefield and at the Slade School of Fine Art, London, his plays include The Restoration of Arnold Middleton, The Changing Room, Cromwell, Home and Stages. Storey was a trumpet player who wrote the screenplay for This Sporting Life, directed by Lindsay Anderson, adapted from Storey's first novel of the same name, originally published in 1960, which won the 1960 Macmillan Fiction Award. The film was the beginning of a long professional association with Anderson, whose film version of Storey's play In Celebration was released as part of the American Film Theatre series in 1975. Home and Early Days were made into television films. Storey's novels include Flight into Camden, which won the 1963 Somerset Maugham Award; and the 1961 John Llewellyn Rhys Prize; and Saville, which won the 1976 Booker Prize.

Awards by David Storey

Check all the awards nominated and won by David Storey.


Man Booker Prize
Honored for : Saville

Nominations 1976 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Man Booker Prize Saville


Obie Award for Best Foreign Play
Honored for : The Contractor


Nominations 1973 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Tony Award for Best Play The Changing Room


Nominations 1972 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Man Booker Prize Pasmore


Nominations 1971 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Tony Award for Best Play Home


Nominations 1964 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
BAFTA Award for Best British Screenplay This Sporting Life