Awards & Winners

Elinor Ostrom

Date of Birth 07-August-1933
Place of Birth Los Angeles
(Southern California, Los Angeles County, United States of America, California)
Nationality United States of America
Profession Political scientist, Commoner, Professor, Economist
Elinor "Lin" Ostrom was an American political economist whose work was associated with the New Institutional Economics and the resurgence of political economy. In 2009, she shared the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences with Oliver E. Williamson for "her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons". To date, she remains the only woman so honored. Ostrom lived in Bloomington, Indiana and served on the faculty of both Indiana University and Arizona State University. She held the rank of Distinguished Professor at Indiana University and was the Arthur F. Bentley Professor of Political Science and Co-Director of the Workshop in Political Theory and Policy Analysis at Indiana University in Bloomington, as well as Research Professor and the Founding Director of the Center for the Study of Institutional Diversity at Arizona State University in Tempe. She was a lead researcher for the Sustainable Agriculture and Natural Resource Management Collaborative Research Support Program, managed by Virginia Tech and funded by USAID. Beginning in 2008, she and her husband, Vincent Ostrom, advised the journal Transnational Corporations Review.

Awards by Elinor Ostrom

Check all the awards nominated and won by Elinor Ostrom.


Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences
(for her analysis of economic governance, especially the commons)


John J. Carty Award for the Advancement of Science
(Social/Political science. For her exceptional contributions to the study of social institutions, research that has greatly advanced our understanding of resource management, and the governance of local public economies.)