Awards & Winners


Date of Birth 26-March-1953
Place of Birth Thrissur
(India, Kerala, Thrissur district)
Nationality India
Also know as Johnson Master, जॉनसन मास्टर
Profession Musician, Singer, Film Score Composer, Music Director
Johnson was an Indian film score composer and music director who has given music to some of the most important motion pictures of Malayalam cinema, including those for Koodevide, Namukku Parkkan Munthiri Thoppukal, Oru Minnaminunginte Nurunguvettam, Vadakkunokkiyantram, Perumthachan, Njan Gandharvan, Ponthan Mada, and Bhoothakkannadi. He was noted for his lyrical and expressive melodies together with simple but rich tonal compositions of thematic music. Johnson is a recipient of National Film Awards twice and Kerala State Film Awards five times. He started his career as an assistant to G. Devarajan in 1970s, and debuted as an independent composer in late seventies with Aaravam. He was a recurrent collaborator for directors Padmarajan, Bharathan, Sathyan Anthikkad, T. V. Chandran, Kamal, Lohithadas, Balachandra Menon and Mohan. He has composed music for more than 300 Malayalam films, the most by any composer except for Devarajan. He was the first Music Director from Malayalam Film Fraternity to be honored with the National Award. He died of a heart attack in Chennai on 18 August 2011.

Awards by Johnson

Check all the awards nominated and won by Johnson.


Nominations 2009 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Filmfare Award for Best Music Director – Malayalam Gulmohar


Kerala State Film Award for Best Music Director
Honored for : Angene Oru Avadhikkalathu


National Film Award for Best Music Direction
Honored for : Sukrutham
(Background Score)


Kerala State Film Award for Best Music Director
Honored for : Mazhavilkavadi, Vadakkunokkiyantram