Awards & Winners

Mark Jarman

Date of Birth 05-June-1952
Place of Birth Mount Sterling
(Montgomery County, Kentucky, United States of America)
Nationality United States of America
Also know as Mark F. Jarman
Profession Poet
Mark F. Jarman is an American poet and critic often identified with the New Narrative branch of the New Formalism; he was co-editor with Robert McDowell of The Reaper throughout the 1980s. Centennial Professor of English at Vanderbilt University, he is the author of ten books of poetry, two books of essays, and a book of essays co-authored with Robert McDowell. He co-edited the anthology Rebel Angels: 25 Poets of the New Formalism with David Mason. Jarman's awards for poetry include a Joseph Henry Jackson Award, three grants from the NEA, and a fellowship from the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation. His book The Black Riviera won the 1991 Poets' Prize. Questions for Ecclesiastes was a finalist for the 1997 National Book Critics Circle Award in poetry and won the 1998 Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize from the Academy of American Poets and The Nation magazine.

Awards by Mark Jarman

Check all the awards nominated and won by Mark Jarman.


Nominations 1997 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry Questions for Ecclesiastes


Poets' Prize
Honored for : The Black Riviera
Guggenheim Fellowship for Creative Arts, US & Canada