Awards & Winners

Theodore Mann

Date of Birth 13-May-1924
Place of Birth Brooklyn
(United States of America, New York City, New York, New York-White Plains-Wayne, NY-NJ Metropolitan Division)
Nationality United States of America
Also know as Goldman
Profession Theatre Director, Theatrical producer
Theodore Mann, birth name Goldman, was an American theatre producer and director and the Artistic Director of the Circle in the Square Theatre School. Mann co-founded Circle in the Square Theatre, widely regarded as the birth of the off-Broadway theatre movement, with Jose Quintero in 1951. Ten years later, he established the Circle in the Square Theatre School to provide training for aspiring actors. It presently offers a two-year program including courses in scene study, text analysis, speech, dance, and singing technique. Mann produced and/or directed more than two hundred productions starring such luminaries as Al Pacino, Dustin Hoffman, Jason Robards, Geraldine Page, Colleen Dewhurst, James Earl Jones, Kevin Kline, Maureen Stapleton, Rip Torn, George C. Scott, and Jane Alexander. In addition to his Broadway and off-Broadway credits, he directed The Turn of the Screw for the New York City Opera, La Boheme for the Juilliard School, and The Night of the Iguana for Moscow's Maly Theater. Mann received a Tony Award, as producer of the 1957 revival of Long Day's Journey Into Night. He was nominated for twelve additional Tonys and seven Drama Desk Awards.

Awards by Theodore Mann

Check all the awards nominated and won by Theodore Mann.


Tony Award for Best Play
Honored for : Long Day's Journey Into Night

Nominations 1957 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Tony Award for Best Play Long Day's Journey Into Night