Awards & Winners

William Golding

Date of Birth 19-September-1911
Place of Birth St Columb Minor
(United Kingdom, Cornwall)
Nationality United Kingdom
Also know as Sir William Gerald Golding, William Gerald Golding, Sir William Gerald Golding, William Gerald Golding
Profession Writer, Novelist, Author, Playwright, Poet
Sir William Gerald Golding Kt., CBE was an English novelist, playwright, and poet who won a Nobel Prize in Literature, and is best known for his novel Lord of the Flies. He was also awarded the Booker Prize for literature in 1980 for his novel Rites of Passage, the first book in what became his sea trilogy, To the Ends of the Earth. Golding was knighted by Elizabeth II in 1988. He was a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. In 2008, The Times ranked Golding third on their list of "The 50 greatest British writers since 1945".

Awards by William Golding

Check all the awards nominated and won by William Golding.


Nobel Prize in Literature
(for his novels which, with the perspicuity of realistic narrative art and the diversity and universality of myth, illuminate the human condition in the world of today.)


Man Booker Prize
Honored for : Rites of Passage

Nominations 1980 »

Award Nominated Nominated Work
Man Booker Prize Rites of Passage