Awards & Winners

Independent Spirit Awards

The Independent Spirit Awards, founded in 1984, are awards dedicated to independent filmmakers. Winners were typically presented with acrylic glass pyramids containing suspended shoestrings representing the paltry budgets of independent films. In 1986, the event was renamed the Independent Spirit Awards. The Independent Spirit Awards are presented by Film Independent, a non-profit organization dedicated to independent film and independent filmmakers. In 2007, the ceremony was slightly changed to Film Independent's Spirit Awards. Since 2006, winners have received a trophy depicting a bird sitting atop of a pole with the shoestrings from the previous design wrapped around the pole. The awards show was previously held inside a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, California, usually on the day before the Academy Awards. Since 1994, the show has been broadcast on the Bravo network and Independent Film Channel. The 29th Independent Spirit Awards ceremony, celebrating the films of 2013, was held on March 1, 2014.

|   Independent Spirit Awards 2011  |   26th Independent Spirit Awards  |   25th Independent Spirit Awards  |
Independent Spirit Awards Nominations
Check all the Awards, Winners and Nominations for the Independent Spirit Awards since 1986.

Independent Spirit Awards


Check all the winners of 2012 Independent Spirit Awards.
(Click on the Award Name or Winner name to get list of all awards/winners)
Michelle Williams
Honored for : My Week with Marilyn
(Role: Marilyn Monroe)
Asghar Farhadi
Honored for : A Separation
(Country: Iran)
Heather Courtney
Honored for : Where Soldiers Come From
(Nokia Truer than Fiction Award)
Sophia Lin
Honored for : Take Shelter
(Piaget Producers Award)
Mark Jackson
Honored for : Without
(Audi Someone to Watch Award)