Awards & Winners

1950 Nobel Prize

Check winners and nominees of 1950 Nobel Prize. Check awards winners of 1950 Nobel Peace Prize Ceremony and 1950 Nobel Prize Ceremony. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Check Nobel Prize winners & nominees for 1950 award ceremonies 1950 Nobel Peace Prize Ceremony and 1950 Nobel Prize Ceremony.
1950 Nobel Peace Prize Ceremony 1950 Nobel Prize Ceremony

1950 Nobel Peace Prize Ceremony »

Nobel Peace Prize

1950 Nobel Prize Ceremony »

Nobel Prize in Literature

Bertrand Russell

(in recognition of his varied and significant writings in which he champions humanitarian ideals and freedom of thought.)

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Albert Camus
Albert Steffen
Alfred Noyes
Angelos Sikelianos
Arnold Toynbee
Arnulf Øverland
Benedetto Croce
Bertrand Russell
Boris Pasternak
Edward Plunkett, 18th Baron of Dunsany
E. M. Forster
Enrique Larreta
Ernest Hemingway
Eugène Baie
François Mauriac
Georges Duhamel
Gertrud von Le Fort
Graham Greene
Halldór Laxness
Hans Carossa
Henriette Roland Holst
Hermann Broch
J.C. Bloem
Jean Schlumberger
Johan Falkberget
Johannes Jørgensen
John Dewey
Jules Romains
Júlio Dantas
Karen Blixen
Karl Jaspers
Leonid Leonov
Leopold Staff
Lin Yutang
Marie Under
Mark Aldanov
Martin Andersen Nexø
Martin Buber
Mika Waltari
Michail Aleksandrovich Sholokhov
Nikos Kazantzakis
Pär Lagerkvist
Paul Claudel
Ramón Menéndez Pidal
Robert Frost
Robert Graves
Seán O'Casey
Simon Vestdijk
Stijn Streuvels
Taha Hussein
Tarjei Vesaas
Thomas Head Raddall
William Faulkner
Winston Churchill
Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

Edward Calvin Kendall, Philip Showalter Hench, Tadeus Reichstein

(for their discoveries relating to the hormones of the adrenal cortex, their structure and biological effects.)
Nobel Prize in Physics

C. F. Powell

(for his development of the photographic method of studying nuclear processes and his discoveries regarding mesons made with this method.)
Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Otto Diels, Kurt Alder

(for their discovery and development of the diene synthesis.)