Awards & Winners

1951 Pulitzer Prize

Check winners and nominations of 1951 Pulitzer Prize. Check awards winners of 1951 Pulitzer Prize. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

1951 Pulitzer Prize

Pulitzer Prize for Fiction

Conrad Richter

Honored for : The Town
Pulitzer Prize for Music

Douglas Moore

Honored for : Giants in the Earth
Pulitzer Prize for Public Service

The Miami Herald, Brooklyn Eagle

(For their crime reporting during the year.)
Pulitzer Prize for Local Reporting

Edward S. Montgomery

(For his series of articles on tax frauds which culminated in an expose within the Bureau of Internal Revenue.)
Pulitzer Prize for International Reporting

Relman Morin, Keyes Beech, Fred Sparks, Homer Bigart, Marguerite Higgins, Don Whitehead

(For their reporting of the Korean War.)
Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Writing

William Harry Fitzpatrick

(For his series of editorials analyzing and clarifying a very important constitutional issue, which is described by the general heading of the series, 'Government by Treaty.')
Pulitzer Prize for Editorial Cartooning

Reg Manning

(For 'Hats.')
Pulitzer Prize for Photography

Max Desfor

(For his photographic coverage of the Korean War, an outstanding example of which is, Flight of Refugees Across Wrecked Bridge in Korea.)
Pulitzer Prize for Biography or Autobiography

Margaret Coit

Honored for : John C. Calhoun: American Portrait
Pulitzer Prize for Poetry

Carl Sandburg

Honored for : Collected Poems
Pulitzer Prize for History

R. Carlyle Buley

Honored for : The Old Northwest, Pioneer Period 1815-1840
Pulitzer Prize Special Citations and Awards

Cyrus Leo Sulzberger II

(For his exclusive interview with Archbishop Stepinac.)
Pulitzer Prize Special Citations and Awards

Arthur Krock

(The Advisory Board on the Pulitzer Prizes as a policy does not make any award to an individual member of the Board. In 1951, the Board decided that the outstanding instance of National Reporting done in 1950 was the exclusive interview with President Truman obtained by Arthur Krock of The New York Times, while Mr. Krock was a Board member. The Board therefore made no award in the National Reporting category.)