Awards & Winners

1999 Lasker Award

Check winners and nominations of 1999 Lasker Award. Check awards winners of 1999 Lasker Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research

Roderick MacKinnon, Bertil Hille, Clay Armstrong

(For elucidating the functional and structural architecture of ion channel proteins, which govern the electrical potential of membranes throughout nature, thereby generating nerve impulses and controlling muscle contraction, cardiac rhythm, and hormone secretion.)
Albert Lasker Special Achievement Award

Seymour S. Kety

(For a lifetime of contributions to neuroscience \u2014 including discovery of a method for measuring cerebral blood flow that led to current brain imaging techniques, adoptive studies in schizophrenia that established its genetic origin, and visionary leadership in mental health that ushered psychiatry into the molecular era.)
Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

David Cushman, Miguel Ondetti

(For developing an innovative approach to drug design based on protein structure and using it to create the ACE inhibitors: powerful oral agents for the treatment of high blood pressure, heart failure, and diabetic kidney disease.)
Mary Woodard Lasker Award for Public Service