Awards & Winners

2008 Lasker Award

Check winners and nominations of 2008 Lasker Award. Check awards winners of 2008 Lasker Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Albert Lasker Award for Basic Medical Research

Victor Ambros, David Baulcombe, Gary Ruvkun

(For discoveries that revealed an unanticipated world of tiny RNAs that regulate gene function in plants and animals.)
Albert Lasker Special Achievement Award

Stanley Falkow

(For a 51-year career as one of the great microbe hunters of all time \u2014 he discovered the molecular nature of antibiotic resistance, revolutionized the way we think about how pathogens cause disease, and mentored more than 100 students, many of whom are now distinguished leaders in the fields of microbiology and infectious diseases. )
Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award

Akira Endo

(For the discovery of the statins \u2014 drugs with remarkable LDL-cholesterol-lowering properties that have revolutionized the prevention and treatment of coronary heart disease.)
Mary Woodard Lasker Award for Public Service