Awards & Winners

1982 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 1982 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 1982 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

Julian May

Honored for : The Many-Colored Land

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Hilbert Schenck At the Eye of the Ocean
Ian Watson Deathhunter
C. J. Cherryh Downbelow Station
Janet Morris Dream Dancer
Steven Barnes Dream Park
Larry Niven Dream Park
James P. Hogan Giants' Star
Frank Herbert God Emperor of Dune
Phyllis Eisenstein In the Hands of Glory
Jerry Pournelle King David's Spaceship
Jack L. Chalker Lilith: A Snake in the Grass
Jerry Pournelle Oath of Fealty
Larry Niven Oath of Fealty
Clifford D. Simak Project Pope
A. A. Attanasio Radix
Russell Hoban Riddley Walker
Marion Zimmer Bradley Sharra's Exile
Dean Ing Systemic Shock
Christopher Priest The Affirmation
Jack Vance The Book of Dreams
Frederik Pohl The Cool War
Philip K. Dick The Divine Invasion
James Gunn The Dreamers
Julian May The Many-Colored Land
C. J. Cherryh The Pride of Chanur
Elizabeth A. Lynn The Sardonyx Net
Philip José Farmer The Unreasoning Mask
Suzette Haden Elgin Twelve Fair Kingdoms
Philip K. Dick VALIS
Ben Bova Voyagers
C. J. Cherryh Wave Without a Shore
Lisa Tuttle Windhaven
George R. R. Martin Windhaven
Joe Haldeman Worlds
Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

Gene Wolfe

Honored for : The Claw of the Conciliator

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Kate Wilhelm A Sense of Shadow
Piers Anthony Blue Adept
Katherine Kurtz Camber the Heretic
Stephen King Cujo
Tanith Lee Delusion's Master
Linda Haldeman Esbae: A Winter's Tale
Andre Norton Gryphon in Glory
Andre Norton Horn crown
Patricia Wrightson Behind the Wind
Gillian Bradshaw Kingdom of Summer
John Crowley Little, Big
Tanith Lee Lycanthia
Roger Zelazny Madwand
Chelsea Quinn Yarbro Path of the Eclipse
Avram Davidson Peregrine: Secundus
Robert Stallman The Captive
Roger Zelazny The Changing Land
Gene Wolfe The Claw of the Conciliator
F. Paul Wilson The Keep
Nancy Springer The Sable Moon
Michael Moorcock The War Hound and the World's Pain
Mildred Downey Broxon Too Long a Sacrifice
Locus Award for Best First Novel

S. P. Somtow

Honored for : Starship & Haiku

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Drew Mendelson Pilgrimage
A. A. Attanasio Radix
Alexis A. Gilliland The Revolution from Rosinante
Stephen Leigh Slow Fall to Dawn
S. P. Somtow Starship & Haiku
Paul O. Williams The Breaking of Northwall
Adam Corby The Former King
Nancy Kress The Prince of Morning Bells
Steve Perry The Tularemia Gambit
Paul Cook Tintagel
Jerry Earl Brown Under the City of Angels
Karl Hansen War Games
Kenneth Flint A Storm Upon Ulster
Hilbert Schenck At the Eye of the Ocean
James B. Johnson Daystar and Shadow
Alasdair Gray Lanark: A Life in Four Books
Locus Award for Best Short Story

John Varley

Honored for : The Pusher

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
S. P. Somtow Absent Thee from Felicity Awhile
Carter Scholz Altamira
Nancy Kress Casey's Empire
Gardner Dozois Disciples
Jack C. Haldeman II Executive Clemency
Gardner Dozois Executive Clemency
Gregory Benford Exposures
Damon Knight Forever
William Gibson Hinterlands
D. D. Storm Mud/Aurora
Harlan Ellison On the Slab
George R. R. Martin Remembering Melody
Pat Cadigan Second Comings-Reasonable Rates
Spider Robinson Serpent's Teeth
Lisa Tuttle The Bone Flute
Pat Cadigan The Coming of the Doll
William Gibson The Gernsback Continuum
Thomas M. Disch The Grown-Up
George R. R. Martin The Needle Men
C. J. Cherryh The Only Death in the City
Robert Silverberg The Palace at Midnight
John Varley The Pusher
George Guthridge The Quiet
Robert Silverberg The Regulars
Michael McCollum The Shroud
Charles Sheffield The Softest Hammer
Gene Wolfe The Woman the Unicorn Loved
Kim Stanley Robinson Venice Drowned
Mildred Downey Broxon Walk the Ice
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Robert Asprin

Honored for : Shadows of Sanctuary

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Terry Carr A Treasury of Modern Fantasy
Martin H. Greenberg A Treasury of Modern Fantasy
Robert Sheckley After The Fall
Gardner Dozois Best Science Fiction Stories of the Year: Tenth Annual Collection
Jim Baen Destinies Vol. 3, No. 1, Winter, 1981
Orson Scott Card Dragons of Darkness
Mark Alan Arnold Elsewhere
Terri Windling Elsewhere
Terry Carr Fantasy Annual III
Lin Carter Flashing Swords! 5: Demons and Daggers
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 5 (1943)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 5 (1943)
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 6 (1944)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 6 (1944)
Jack Dann More Wandering Stars
Frank Herbert Nebula Winners 15
Robert Silverberg New Dimensions 12
Marta Randall New Dimensions 12
George R. R. Martin New Voices 4
Arthur C. Clarke Science Fiction Hall of Fame Volume Four
Charles L. Grant Shadows 4
Robert Asprin Shadows of Sanctuary
Judy-Lynn del Rey Stellar #7
Donald A. Wollheim The 1981 Annual World's Best SF
Arthur W. Saha The 1981 Annual World's Best SF
John Silbersack The Berkley Showcase Vol. 4
Victoria Schochet The Berkley Showcase Vol. 4
Terry Carr The Best Science Fiction of the Year 10
Larry Niven The Magic May Return
Arthur W. Saha The Year's Best Fantasy Stories: 7
Karl Edward Wagner The Year's Best Horror Stories: Series IX
Terry Carr Universe 11
Richard A. Lupoff What If? Vol. 2
Stuart David Schiff Whispers III