Awards & Winners

2003 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 2003 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 2003 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

Kim Stanley Robinson

Honored for : The Years of Rice and Salt

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Karl Schroeder Permanence
Nancy Kress Probability space
Alastair Reynolds Redemption Ark
Harry Turtledove Ruled Britannia
Greg Egan Schild's Ladder
Orson Scott Card Shadow Puppets
Rudy Rucker Spaceland
Patrick O'Leary The Impossible Bird
Carol Emshwiller The Mount
Brian Stableford The Omega Expedition
Walter Jon Williams The Praxis
Christopher Priest The Separation
John Barnes The Sky So Big and Black
Sheri S. Tepper The Visitor
Kim Stanley Robinson The Years of Rice and Salt
Greg Bear Vitals
Michael Swanwick Bones of the Earth
Jack McDevitt Chindi
Allen Steele Coyote
Lois McMaster Bujold Diplomatic Immunity
Ken MacLeod Engine City
Stephen Baxter Evolution
Joe Haldeman Guardian
David Brin Kiln People
M. John Harrison Light
Kathleen Ann Goonan Light Music
Steven Barnes Lion's Blood
Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

China Miéville

Honored for : The Scar

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tanith Lee A Bed of Earth
Nina Kiriki Hoffman A Fistful of Sky
Dan Simmons A Winter Haunting
Jacqueline Carey Kushiel's Chosen
Jasper Fforde Lost in a Good Book
Terry Pratchett Night Watch
Patricia A. McKillip Ombria in Shadow
Lisa Goldstein The Alchemist's Door
Graham Joyce The Facts of Life
Ellen Kushner The Fall of the Kings
Delia Sherman The Fall of the Kings
Robert Holdstock The Iron Grail
Sean Russell The Isle of Battle
Cecilia Dart-Thornton The Lady of the Sorrows
Jeffrey Ford The Portrait of Mrs. Charbuque
China Miéville The Scar
Sean McMullen Voyage of the Shadowmoon
Jonathan Carroll White Apples
Gwyneth Jones Castles Made of Sand
Locus Award for Best First Novel

Alexander C. Irvine

Honored for : A Scattering of Jades

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Alexander C. Irvine A Scattering of Jades
Richard K. Morgan Altered Carbon
Naomi Kritzer Fires of the Faithful
Lisa Lerner Just Like Beauty
Kelley Eskridge Solitaire
Charles Stross The Atrocity Archives
Pauline J. Alama The Eye of Night
Nega Mezlekia The god who begat a jackal
John C. Wright The Golden Age
Scott Nicholson The Red Church
James A. Hetley The Summer Country
Karin Lowachee Warchild
Locus Award for Best Short Story

Neil Gaiman

Honored for : October in the Chair

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Geoffrey A. Landis At Dorado
James Patrick Kelly Candy Art
Jeffrey Ford Creation
Michael Swanwick Dirty Little War
Benjamin Rosenbaum Droplet
China Miéville Familiar
Ken Wharton Flight Correction
Michael Swanwick 'Hello,' Said the Stick
Kage Baker Her Father's Eyes
Patricia A. McKillip Hunter's Moon
Terry Bisson I Saw the Light
Paul Park If Lions Could Speak
Bruce Sterling In Paradise
Eleanor Arnason Knapsack Poems
Molly Gloss Lambing Season
Neil Gaiman October in the Chair
Robert Reed She Sees My Monsters Now
Gene Wolfe Shields of Mars
Ursula K. Le Guin Social Dreaming of the Frin
Ray Vukcevich Some Other Time
Gardner Dozois The Hanging Curve
Stephen Baxter The Hunters of Pangaea
John Kessel The Invisible Empire
Michael Swanwick The Little Cat Laughed to See Such Sport
Geoffrey A. Landis The Long Chase
Ursula K. Le Guin The Seasons of the Ansarac
Gene Wolfe The Waif
James K. Morrow The War of the Worldviews
Karen Joy Fowler What I Didn't See
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Gardner Dozois

Honored for : The Year's Best Science Fiction: Nineteenth Annual Collection

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Sheila E. Gilbert 30th Anniversary DAW: Science Fiction
Elizabeth R. Wollheim 30th Anniversary DAW: Science Fiction
Peter Straub Conjunctions 39: The New Wave Fabulists
Stephen Jones Dark Terrors 6
David Sutton Dark Terrors 6
Forrest Aguirre Leviathan Three
Jeff VanderMeer Leviathan Three
Peter Crowther Mars Probes
Kim Stanley Robinson Nebula Awards Showcase 2002
Jay Lake Polyphony, Volume 1
Deborah Layne Polyphony, Volume 1
Martin H. Greenberg Robert Silverberg Presents The Great SF Stories (1964)
Robert Silverberg Robert Silverberg Presents The Great SF Stories (1964)
Ellen Datlow The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest
Terri Windling The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest
Kathryn Cramer The Hard SF Renaissance
David G. Hartwell The Hard SF Renaissance
Stephen Jones The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror: Volume Thirteen
Mike Ashley The Mammoth Book of Extreme Science Fiction
Ellen Datlow The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Fifteenth Annual Collection
Terri Windling The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Fifteenth Annual Collection
Gardner Dozois The Year's Best Science Fiction: Nineteenth Annual Collection
Laura Anne Gilman Worlds That Weren't
Kathryn Cramer Year's Best Fantasy 2
David G. Hartwell Year's Best Fantasy 2
Kathryn Cramer Year's Best SF 7
David G. Hartwell Year's Best SF 7
Locus Award for Best Collection

Ted Chiang

Honored for : Stories of Your Life and Others

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Kage Baker Black Projects, White Knights
Theodore Sturgeon Bright Segment: Vol. VIII
Harry Turtledove Counting Up, Counting Down
Stephen King Everything's Eventual
Poul Anderson Going for Infinity
Paul Di Filippo Little Doors
John Thomas Sladek Maps
Fredric Brown Martians and Madness: The Complete SF Novels of Fredric Brown
Richard Matheson Nightmare at 20,000 feet
Stephen Baxter Phase Space
Carol Emshwiller Report to the Men's Club and Other Stories
Philip K. Dick Selected Stories of Philip K. Dick
Fritz Leiber Smoke Ghost & Other Apparitions
Ted Chiang Stories of Your Life and Others
James Patrick Kelly Strange But Not a Stranger
Ursula K. Le Guin The Birthday of the World
Greg Bear The Collected Stories of Greg Bear
Jeffrey Ford The Fantasy Writer's Assistant and Other Stories
Charles Stross Toast: And Other Rusted Futures
Charles de Lint Waifs and Strays
Dan Simmons Worlds Enough and Time