Awards & Winners

1996 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 1996 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 1996 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

Neal Stephenson

Honored for : The Diamond Age

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Jonathan Lethem Amnesia Moon
Robert Reed An Exaltation of Larks
David Brin Brightness Reef
Ian McDonald Chaga
Paul J. McAuley Fairyland
Rebecca Ore Gaia's Toys
C. J. Cherryh Invader
John Barnes Kaleidoscope Century
Greg Bear Legacy
Walter Jon Williams Metropolitan
Gregory Benford Sailing Bright Eternity
Melissa Scott Shadow Man
Nicola Griffith Slow River
Valerie J. Freireich Testament
Neal Stephenson The Diamond Age
Charles Sheffield The Ganymede Club
Lisa Mason The Golden Nineties
George Zebrowski The Killing Star
Charles R. Pellegrino The Killing Star
Mary Rosenblum The Stone Garden
Robert J. Sawyer The Terminal Experiment
Stephen Baxter The Time Ships
Harry Turtledove Worldwar: Tilting the Balance
Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

Orson Scott Card

Honored for : Alvin Journeyman

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Elizabeth Willey A Sorcerer and a Gentleman
Orson Scott Card Alvin Journeyman
Robin Hobb Assassin's Apprentice
Michael Moorcock Blood: A Southern Fantasy
Martha Wells City of Bones
Celia S. Friedman Crown of Shadows
C. J. Cherryh Fortress in the Eye of Time
Maggie Furey Harp of Winds
Terry Pratchett Maskerade
Sean Stewart Resurrection Man
Terry Goodkind Stone of Tears
Mercedes Lackey Storm Rising
Patricia A. McKillip The Book of Atrix Wolfe
Guy Gavriel Kay The Lions of Al-Rassan
Nina Kiriki Hoffman The Silent Strength of Stones
Parke Godwin The Tower of Beowulf
Elizabeth Hand Waking the Moon
Sean Russell World Without End
William Browning Spencer Zod Wallop
Locus Award for Best First Novel

Linda Nagata

Honored for : The Bohr Maker

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Richard Calder Dead Girls
Patrick O'Leary Door Number Three
Scott G. Gier Planetfall
Felicity Savage Humility Garden
Alison Sinclair Legacies
Tricia Sullivan Lethe
Catherine Asaro Primary Inversion
Jamil Nasir Quasar
Julie Victoria Jones The Baker's Boy
Linda Nagata The Bohr Maker
A. F. Kidd The Printer's Devil
Sharon Shinn The shape-Changer's Wife
Locus Award for Best Short Story

Maureen F. McHugh

Honored for : The Lincoln Train

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Esther Friesner A Birthday
G. David Nordley Alice's Asteroid
Stephen Baxter Gossamer
Gregory Benford High Abyss
Geoff Ryman Home
Brian Aldiss Into the Tunnel!
Tony Daniel Life on the Moon
Ursula K. Le Guin Olders
Brian Stableford The Age of Innocence
Kristine Kathryn Rusch The Beautiful, the Damned
Robert Sheckley The Day the Aliens Came
James Gunn The Lens of Time
Maureen F. McHugh The Lincoln Train
Michael F. Flynn The Promise of God
Roger Zelazny The Three Descents of Jeremy Baker
Terry Bisson There Are No Dead
Michael Swanwick Walking Out
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Gardner Dozois

Honored for : The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twelfth Annual Collection

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Stephen Jones Best New Horror 6
Esther Friesner Chicks in Chainmail
Nancy A. Collins Dark Love
Martin H. Greenberg Dark Love
Edward E. Kramer Dark Love
Gregory Benford Far Futures
Tom Dupree Full Spectrum 5
Janna Silverstein Full Spectrum 5
Jennifer Hershey Full Spectrum 5
Charles Sheffield How To Save the World
Gardner Dozois Killing Me Softly: Erotic Tales of Unearthly Love
Pamela Sargent Nebula Awards 29
Greg Bear New Legends
Janet Berliner Peter S. Beagle's Immortal Unicorn
Peter S. Beagle Peter S. Beagle's Immortal Unicorn
Ellen Datlow Ruby Slippers, Golden Tears
Terri Windling Ruby Slippers, Golden Tears
Terri Windling The Armless Maiden
Ellen Datlow The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Eighth Annual Collection
Terri Windling The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Eighth Annual Collection
Gardner Dozois The Year's Best Science Fiction: Twelfth Annual Collection
Peter Crowther Tombs
Edward E. Kramer Tombs
Pamela Sargent Women of Wonder, the Classic Years: Science Fiction by Women from the 1940s to the 1970s
Pamela Sargent Women of Wonder, the Contemporary Years: Science Fiction by Women from the 1970s to the 1990s
Jane Yolen Xanadu 3