Awards & Winners

1984 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 1984 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 1984 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

David Brin

Honored for : Startide Rising

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
David Gerrold A Matter for Men
Gregory Benford Against Infinity
Paul Preuss Broken Symmetries
James P. Hogan Code of the Lifemaker
C. J. Cherryh Forty Thousand in Gehenna
Philip José Farmer Gods of Riverworld
Mary Gentle Golden Witchbreed
Brian Aldiss Helliconia Summer
John Varley Millennium
Anne McCaffrey Moreta: Dragonlady of Pern
Poul Anderson Orion Shall Rise
John Thomas Sladek Roderick at Random
David Brin Startide Rising
Vonda N. McIntyre Superluminal
John Batchelor The Birth of the People's Republic of Antarctica
Gene Wolfe The Citadel of the Autarch
John Brunner The Crucible of Time
Julian May The Nonborn King
Isaac Asimov The Robots of Dawn
Norman Spinrad The Void Captain's Tale
Marion Zimmer Bradley Thendara House
Joe Haldeman There Is No Darkness
Jack C. Haldeman II There Is No Darkness
John Thomas Sladek Tik-Tok
M. A. Foster Transformer
Robert Silverberg Valentine Pontifex
Frederik Pohl Wall Around a Star
Jack Williamson Wall Around a Star
Kate Wilhelm Welcome, Chaos
Joe Haldeman Worlds apart
Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

Marion Zimmer Bradley

Honored for : The Mists of Avalon

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Tanith Lee Anackire
Stephen King Christine
Jack Vance Cugel's Saga
R. A. MacAvoy Damiano
Piers Anthony Dragon on a Pedestal
Peter Straub Floating Dragon
Orson Scott Card Hart's Hope
Jack Vance Lyonesse: Suldrun's Garden
David Eddings Magician's Gambit
Samuel R. Delany Neveryóna
Piers Anthony On a Pale Horse
Stephen King Pet Sematary
Tanith Lee Sung in Shadow
R. A. MacAvoy Tea with the Black Dragon
Tim Powers The Anubis Gates
George R. R. Martin The Armageddon Rag
John M. Ford The Dragon Waiting: A Masque of History
C. J. Cherryh The Dreamstone
Marion Zimmer Bradley The Mists of Avalon
Michael Ende The Neverending Story
William Goldman The Silent Gondoliers
Evangeline Walton The Sword is Forged
Marta Randall The Sword of Winter
C. J. Cherryh The Tree of Swords and Jewels
Andre Norton Ware Hawk!
Stephen R. Donaldson White Gold Wielder
Locus Award for Best First Novel

R. A. MacAvoy

Honored for : Tea with the Black Dragon

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Marjorie Kellogg A Rumor of Angels
Bruce T. Holmes Anvil of the Heart
Robin Hobb Harpy's Flight
Sheri S. Tepper King's Blood Four
Clare Bell Ratha's Creature
John DeChancie Starrigger
R. A. MacAvoy Tea with the Black Dragon
Timothy Zahn The Blackcollar
Gloria Rand Dank The Forest of App
Robert Wilfred Franson The Shadow of the Ship
Locus Award for Best Short Story

James Tiptree, Jr.

Honored for : Beyond the Dead Reef

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
William F. Wu Wong's Lost and Found Emporium
Cherie Wilkerson #9202a8c04000641f800000001d14c7cb
Robert Silverberg Amanda and the Alien
Robert Silverberg Basileus
James Tiptree, Jr. Beyond the Dead Reef
John Middleton Murry, Jr. Brothers
R. A. Lafferty Golden Gate
Leigh Kennedy Her Furry Face
Damon Knight La Ronde
Howard Waldrop Man-Mountain Gentian
Robert Silverberg Needle in a Timestack
Isaac Asimov Potential
Gordon Eklund Revisions
Frederik Pohl Servant of the People
Lucius Shepard Solitario's Eyes
Octavia E. Butler Speech Sounds
Frederik Pohl Spending a Day at the Lottery Fair
Bruce Sterling Spook
Kim Stanley Robinson Stone Eggs
Hilbert Schenck The Geometry of Narrative
George Alec Effinger The Man Outside
Gardner Dozois The Peacemaker
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Terry Carr

Honored for : The Best Science Fiction of the Year 12

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Michael Bishop Changes
Ian Watson Changes
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 10 (1948)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 10 (1948)
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 9 (1947)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 9 (1947)
Avram Davidson Magic for Sale
Joe Haldeman Nebula Award Stories 17
Michael Moorcock New Worlds
Charles L. Grant Shadows 6
Donald A. Wollheim The 1983 Annual World's Best SF
Arthur W. Saha The 1983 Annual World's Best SF
Martin H. Greenberg The Arbor House Treasury of Science Fiction Masterpieces
Robert Silverberg The Arbor House Treasury of Science Fiction Masterpieces
Terry Carr The Best Science Fiction of the Year #12
Robert Asprin The Face of Chaos
Lynn Abbey The Face of Chaos
Martin H. Greenberg Fantasy Hall of Fame
Robert Silverberg Fantasy Hall of Fame
Robert Silverberg The Nebula Awards 18
Arthur W. Saha The Year's Best Fantasy Stories: 9
Terry Carr Universe 13
Stuart David Schiff Whispers IV