Awards & Winners

1986 Locus Award

Check winners and nominations of 1986 Locus Award. Check awards winners of 1986 Locus Award. (Click on the Award name to show winners and nominees)

Locus Award for Best Science Fiction Novel

David Brin

Honored for : The Postman

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Ursula K. Le Guin Always Coming Home
Michael Bishop Ancient of Days
Gregory Benford Artifact
Charles Sheffield Between the Strokes of Night
Greg Bear Blood Music
James Tiptree, Jr. Brightness Falls from the Air
Frank Herbert Chapterhouse: Dune
Norman Spinrad Child of Fortune
Carl Sagan Contact
C. J. Cherryh Cuckoo's Egg
Philip José Farmer Dayworld
Tim Powers Dinner at Deviant's Palace
Michael P. Kube-McDowell Emprise
Orson Scott Card Ender's Game
Greg Bear Eon
Melissa Scott Five-Twelfths of Heaven
Jerry Pournelle Footfall
Larry Niven Footfall
Brian Aldiss Helliconia Winter
Keith Roberts Kiteworld
Isaac Asimov Robots and Empire
Bruce Sterling Schismatrix
Robert L. Forward Starquake
Robert A. Heinlein The Cat Who Walks Through Walls
S. P. Somtow The Darkling Wind
C. J. Cherryh The Kif Strike Back
Kim Stanley Robinson The Memory of Whiteness
David Brin The Postman
James P. Hogan The Proteus Operation
Barry N. Malzberg The Remaking of Sigmund Freud
Robert Silverberg Tom O'Bedlam
Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

Roger Zelazny

Honored for : Trumps of Doom

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Steven Brust Brokedown Palace
P. C. Hodgell Dark of the Moon
Barbara Hambly Dragonsbane
Michael Shea In Yana, the Touch of Undying
Richard A. Lupoff Lovecraft's Book
Jack Vance The Green Pearl
Sheri S. Tepper Marianne, the Magus, and the Manticore
Charles de Lint Mulengro
Raymond E. Feist Silverthorn
R. A. MacAvoy The Book of Kells
Suzy McKee Charnas The Bronze King
Clive Barker The Damnation Game
Lisa Goldstein The Dream Years
Katherine Kurtz The King's Justice
Parke Godwin The Last Rainbow
Sheri S. Tepper The Song of Mavin Manyshaped
Guy Gavriel Kay The Summer Tree
Anne Rice The Vampire Lestat
Terry Brooks The Wishsong of Shannara
Nancy Willard Things Invisible to See
Roger Zelazny Trumps of Doom
Nancy Springer Wings of Flame
Piers Anthony With a Tangled Skein
Robin Hobb Wizard of the Pigeons
Locus Award for Best First Novel

Carl Sagan

Honored for : Contact

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Will Shetterly Cats Have No Lord
Susan B. Weston Children of the Light
Carl Sagan Contact
Tappan Wright King Down town
Viido Polikarpus Down town
Michael P. Kube-McDowell Emprise
Linda Steele Ibis
Michael Swanwick In the Drift
Sheila Finch Infinity's Web
M. Coleman Easton Masters of Glass
Kathryn Lance Pandora's Genes
Richard Grant Saraband of Lost Time
Grant Callin Saturnalia
Melisa C. Michaels Skirmish
Dan Simmons Song of Kali
Chuck Rothman Staroamer's Fate
Tad Williams Tailchaser's Song
Judith Tarr The Isle of Glass
Edward A. Byers The Long Forgetting
Ru Emerson The Princess of Flames
Pamela Dean The Secret Country
Dave Smeds The Sorcery Within
Guy Gavriel Kay The Summer Tree
Roger MacBride Allen The Torch of Honor
Geoff Ryman The Warrior Who Carried Life
Jim Aikin Walk the Moon's Road
Locus Award for Best Anthology

Harlan Ellison

Honored for : Medea: Harlan's World

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Elizabeth Mitchell After the Flames
Janet Morris Afterwar
Fred Saberhagen Berserker Base
Gardner Dozois Bestiary!
Jack Dann Bestiary!
Sarah Lefanu Despatches from the Frontiers of the Female Mind
Jen Green Despatches from the Frontiers of the Female Mind
Robin McKinley Imaginary Lands
John Clute Interzone: The 1st Anthology
Colin Greenland Interzone: The 1st Anthology
David Pringle Interzone: The 1st Anthology
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 13 (1951)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 13 (1951)
Isaac Asimov Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 14 (1952)
Martin H. Greenberg Isaac Asimov Presents The Great SF Stories 14 (1952)
Algis Budrys L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future
Emma Bull Liavek
Will Shetterly Liavek
Harlan Ellison Medea: Harlan's World
George Zebrowski Nebula Awards 20
Charles L. Grant Shadows 8
Terry Carr Terry Carr's Best Science Fiction of the Year #14
Donald A. Wollheim The 1985 Annual World's Best SF
Arthur W. Saha The 1985 Annual World's Best SF
Robert Asprin The Dead of Winter
Lynn Abbey The Dead of Winter
Isaac Asimov The Hugo Winners, Volume 4: 1976-1979
Byron Preiss The Planets
Jim Baen The Science Fiction Yearbook
John F. Carr The Science Fiction Yearbook
Jerry Pournelle The Science Fiction Yearbook
Ellen Datlow The Third Omni Book of Science Fiction
Arthur W. Saha The Year's Best Fantasy Stories: 11
Karl Edward Wagner The Year's Best Horror Stories: Series XIII
Gardner Dozois The Year's Best Science Fiction: Second Annual Collection
Terry Carr Universe 15
Stuart David Schiff Whispers
Locus Award for Best Short Story

Harlan Ellison

Honored for : With Virgil Oddum at the East Pole

Nominations »

Nominee Nominated Work
Lucius Shepard ...How My Heart Breaks When I Sing This Song...'
Bruce Sterling Dinner in Audoghast
Frederik Pohl Fermi and Frost
Howard Waldrop Flying Saucer Rock & Roll
Howard Waldrop Heirs of the Perisphere
William F. Wu Hong's Bluff
Lucius Shepard Mengele
Lewis Shiner Mozart in Mirrorshades
Bruce Sterling Mozart in Mirrorshades
Jim Aikin My Life in the Jungle
Lisa Tuttle No Regrets
Nancy Kress Out of All Them Bright Stars
James Blaylock Paper Dragons
John Crowley Snow
Robert Silverberg Sunrise on Pluto
Michael Swanwick The Blind Minotaur
Michael Bishop The Bob Dylan Tambourine Software & Satori Support Services Consortium Ltd.
Michael Swanwick The Gods of Mars
Jack Dann The Gods of Mars
Gardner Dozois The Gods of Mars
Wayne Wightman The Great Wall
Karen Joy Fowler The Lake Was Full of Artificial Things
A. A. Attanasio The Last Dragon Master
Karen Joy Fowler The Poplar Street Study
Harry Turtledove The R Strain
Michael Swanwick The Transmigration of Philip K
Lewis Shiner The War at Home
Gregory Benford Time's Rub
Lisa Goldstein Tourists
Harlan Ellison With Virgil Oddum at the East Pole